#43 I TAKE ALCOHOL, DO YOU SEE ME AS NOT BEING “CHRISTIANLY”? |What’s your take?🤔

One of my best means of content creation is collating different perceptions on a particular topic.

I posted a bunch of questions on my WhatsApp status last night about people’s take on ALCOHOL INTAKE, I got a couple of responses, some of which triggered me to write tonight.

Let me walk you all through these responses…

COME WITH ME!!!

DO YOU DRINK ALCOHOL?

SHOLA: YES

AYO MICHAELS: Yes. Palmwine, orijin (not bitters), vodka, red wine.

TIMI: Yes…but not anymore for now

Do you perceive drinking alcohol as “Christianly”?

SHOLA: IT IS

AYO MICHAELS: I perceive it as being humanly

DAMI: It has nothing to do with religion.

TIMI: No…not at all

What does your religion say about taking alcohol?

SHOLA: Quite a lot!
Proverbs 23:20f: “Do not join those who drink too much wine or gorge themselves on meat, for drunkards and gluttons become poor, and drowsiness clothes them in rags.”
Isaiah 5:11f: “Woe to those who rise early in the morning to run after their drinks, who stay up late at night till they are inflamed with wine. They have harps and lyres at their banquets, tambourines and flutes and wine, but they have no regard for the deeds of the LORD, no respect for the work of his hands.”
Galatians 5:19–21: “The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: … drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.”
Ephesians 5:18: “Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit.”

AYO MICHAELS: Excessive drinking is bad. But I don’t justify drinking because the Bible says not to drink excessively. I drink because I want to.

MARYAM: Against it

TIMI: The people who are involved are fighting against it

What was your first experience?

SHOLA: I got drunk on one bottle of Star.

AYO MICHAELS: Real first experience NYSC camp🤣

DANIEL: Many years ago,
It was wine (every wine contains alcohol 🤣)

TIMI: I was drunk. I was still a small child, around 7 years old

Why did you take it?

SHOLA: I was inquisitive

AYO MICHAELS: I took it because I wanted to. Palmwine is sweet

MARYAM: No, I have never taken alcohol, although I used as preservatives when I used to bake , I wasn’t usually comfortable with it but it was the best preservative though I tried not to add too much.

TIMI: I took it just to feel high…. it was weird

When was the last time you had it?

SHOLA: Yesterday

How often?

SHOLA: Very often

AYO MICHAELS: At least thrice a week. My freezer in my PPA cabin never dries.

DANIEL: I will take it when I need it

TIMI: I don’t take it often anymore because for “this school ehn, you no go know when dem go just pack you go do drug test”😅

Stopped? Why did you stop taking alcohol?

AYO MICHAELS: I’ll stop when I’ll stop

I appreciate my dear respondents for not swiping alone like tens of my contacts did and also for the honest, detailed and fun responses.

LET’S HAVE A CONVERSATION IN THE COMMENT SECTION

WHAT DOES YOUR RELIGION SAY ABOUT ALCOHOL?

WHY DO/DON’T YOU DRINK?

I don’t consider myself as someone that drinks because I barely do, maybe in a year or two, barely! Maybe a glass of wine(half-full) or a can of Sminorff😂 Never had beer! Never had spirit! DON’T WANT TO😍

LET’S TALK!🍷

#gaptoothed

Leave a comment